• Error loading feed data

Premier Division Review - Week 22

Posted in News

Methley won the last ever CYCL Premier Division title with an emphatic win over Birstall in a match reduced to 42 overs a side due to heavy rain all morning.

Methley batted first and the reigning champions set about their task purposely with Richard Foster (76) and Marcus Walmsley (104*) putting on 157 for the first wicket. Ed Walmsleys 34* kept the scoreboard ticking until Methley declared at 231-1 after 34 overs. With Wakefield Thornes having already won their game against Hunslet Nelson, it was tense for Methley as they worked to dismiss their opponents. With the light fading fast and stubborn resistance being offered by Birstalls Australian Robert Pearl (38) and captain Craig Wood (31) there was certainly a lot of nervousness around the ground. With just 9 wickets needed due to an injury suffered by one of the Birstall players whilst fielding, the Methley attack kept plugging away. Mustafa Bashir (3-23), Marcus Walmsley (2-27), Josh Sullivan (2-27) and Ed Walmsley (1-23) gradually worked their way through the Birstall line up. At 7.20 the last wicket fell and an excellent Methley side could celebrate being the final CYCL Champions and complete the double having picked up the Jack Hampshire Cup already this season.

Hard work, good management, a talented pool of players, a willingness to give youth a chance and a determination to get games played no matter what the weather has proved a winning combination for Methley and should see them continue to be a powerful presence in the new merged league. Congratulations on a terrific season.

Earlier in the day, Wakefield Thornes had done all in their power to keep the title race going by taking 6 points from their 8 wicket win over Hunslet Nelson. Will Stiff (34) and Robert Barker (26) batted well for Nelson, but the Thornes attack was on fire and dismissed them for 107. The wickets were shared out between Faisal Irfan (3-11), Matt Varley (3-42), Rav Palliyguruge ((2-25) and Mahmood Rasool (2-21).  In reply, Thornes batsmen James Wolfenden (35*), David Toft (34) and Joe Cook (28*) led their side home to a comfortable win. A superb effort from Thornes then to push Methley all the way and best wishes to them in their new adventure in the Yorkshire South Premier set up.

Townville confirmed third place with a winning draw over Wrenthorpe. James Glynn (62) and Neil Bourke (42) were the top scorers in Wrenthorpes total of 160-8, with Jack Hughes finishing the season with another excellent haul of 4-39 for Townville. The Townville reply was wobbling a little at 78-4, but an unbeaten 5th wicket partnership of 88 from Nick Bresnan (51*) and Connor Harvey (36*) saw their side home.

Thre was an interesting "game within a game" going on as well to see who would finish as the leagues highest scorer. Wrenthorpes South African Darryl Hendricks led Townvilles Chris Holliday by just 21 runs going into the game. When Hendricks was out for just 8 it looked like giving a great opportunity to Holliday to take the lead. However, after such a prolific season he failed to score, and the top scorer trophy goes to Hendricks. Both players, however, had already passed the 1,000 run milestone. Hendricks scoring 1063 at an average of 75.93 and Holliday 1034 at 73.86. Brilliant figures by both players!

The games between Batley and Mirfield Parish, Altofts and Ossett and Carlton and Buttershaw St Pauls were all abandoned with no play possible. Buttershaw St Pauls finished bottom.