Bradford League Clubs Vote For Merger.

Member clubs of the JCT Bradford League last night (Thursday) voted overwhelmingly in favour of the merger with the All Rounder Central Yorkshire Cricket League. The merger will now go ahead, with the merging of the Championship Division in 2016 and the full merger for season 2017.

Details, in particular the divisional make up for next season, will be announced as soon as possible.

Second Team Review - Week 19

2nd X1 Premier Division.

All six games were abandoned, so it as you were, with Ossett (89 points), Wakefield Thornes (87 points) and Batley (83 points) all still in the race for the title.

Josh Hudson-Evans scored an impressive 113 for Thornes, whilst Richard Smith took 5-57 in their game. Richard Sykes (54) top scored for Carlton, as Ian Nowacki took 4-40 for Mirfield Parish Cavaliers, whilst Altofts racked up 299-2, with Daniel Eden scoring 141* and Joe Ellam 88* against Buttershaw St Pauls. There was an exciting finish developing in the Batley v East Ardsley game as Ash Chapman (59) led Ardsley to 187 all out, with Batley's Awais Munir taking 4-36. In reply, Batley had reached 131-5 with Roheil Hussain scoring 38 and Ardsley's Isaac Dunford taking 2-28 before the game was washed out. No play at all took place in the games between Methley and Ossett and Birstall and Wakefield St Michaels.

A huge clash, therefore, this Saturday as Ossett play Wakefield Thornes, whilst Batley visit Wrenthorpe.

2nd X1 Championship.

Azaad still lead Hopton Mills by 9 points after the game between the two was abandoned. It was hugely frustrating for Azaad, who would have wrapped up the league title if they had won, but having scored 143, the rain came with Mills on 108-9. Zahoor Hussain (41*) and Sheryar Noor (4-20) were Azaads key performers, whilst Andy Moorhouse took 4-16 for Hopton Mills. 

Townville maintained their recent improvement and moved off the bottom with a 45 run win over Liversedge. Ben Collinson scored 41 out of Townvilles 144, with Robert Swift picking up 3-24 for Liversedge. Despite an unbeaten 39 from Arshad Ali, Liversedge were dismissed for 99, with Luke Slater taking 4-22 for Townville. 

Parvaz Khan contributed a brilliant 172 out of Oultons total of 222-8 against Hunslet Nelson, for whom Suleman Mohammed took 4-62. Khan wasn't finished there though as he took 3-25 in Nelsons curtailed innings of 47-3, before the game was abandoned.

There are no Championship games this week, leaving Azaad requiring 4 points from their final two games in September to guarantee winning the league.

2nd X1 Division One.

Both Great Preston and East Leeds had their games abandoned, so Great Preston remain 7 points clear with two games to play.

Shazad Riaz scored 45 for Crossbank Methodists and Richard White took 4-28 in their game, whilst John Steel blazed a superb 164* for East Leeds before the abandonment of their game with Adwalton, for whom Chris Blakeney took 3-22.

There was a thrilling 3 run win for Gildersome over Caribbean. Wayne Trueman (32) and Dominic Clay (31) helped Gildersome to a total of 160-8, with Mohammed Bashir taking 3-30. Bashir then came to the rescue with the bat, his 47 taking Caribbean's reply from 89-6 to the brink of victory at 157-8. Ben Clay (4-48) then took the last 2 wickets in 3 balls to secure the win for Gildersome.

Rodleys 10 wicket win over Mirfield was more straight forward. Ian Dobson took 4-2 as Mirfield were dismissed for 54, and then openers Ed Senior (25*) and Dan Willoughby (21*) ensured the Rodley win.

There is only one Division One game this week with Rodley playing Gildersome. Great Preston require 6 points from their last 2 games in September to win the title. 

Division One-Week 19 Review.

There was better luck with the weather in Division One, with only one of the three games abandoned. Great Preston now have a 7 point lead over East Leeds. With no Division One games this weekend, Great Preston require 6 points from their 2 remaining games in September to be be crowned Division One champions.

Great Preston had an emphatic 73 run win over Crossbank Methodists, but it was a tremendous effort by the bottom side to bowl the league leaders all out for 135. Danusha Ranasinghe top scored with 35 for Great Preston, but the rest of their batting disappointed as Crossbanks young Australian, Josh Mastin turned in figures of 5-17. Unfortunately the Meths batting couldn't match the bowlers efforts with Mastin (presumably inspired by his countrymen's exploits at the Oval) top scoring with 21 out of a total of just 62. Andy Clark (5-17) and Chris Baldwin (3-22) did most of the damage for Great Preston.

The Mirfield v East Leeds game sadly fell victim to the weather, after East Leeds skipper James Watling had scored 48 and Mirfields Robert Haigh had taken 4-43.

The Drighlington micro climate kept the rain at bay long enough for Adwalton and Rodley to produce the game of the day, with Rodley grabbing a thrilling 2 run victory. Simon Raistrick (39) and Gary Lewsley (35) led the Rodley batting to a total of 160 all out, with another Australian, James Paterson (4-35) and Chris Priestley (3-15) being Adwaltons leading wicket takers. Matt Donohoe gave Adwalton a good start with 59, but Rodleys Joel Rothery (5-43) and Simon Raistrick (3-34) worked their way through the batting order, but James Curtis (23*) edged Adwalton closer and closer. He finally ran out of partners though, with the score agonisingly close on 158 to give Rodley a welcome victory.

Septembers run in sees Great Preston face home fixtures against Gildersome and Adwalton, whilst East Leeds are at home to Rodley and away to Crossbank Methodists.

Championship Review-Week 19

A soggy end to the afternoon saw three of the four Championship fixtures abandoned and a number of good individual performances rendered in vain. The upshot was that Hopton Mills still have a one point lead over Liversedge, and with no Championship fixtures this weekend, the battle between these two goes on into September.

Chris Scott scored 58 to get Hopton Mills on their way, with Scott Mullins taking 4-55 for East Ardsley before the match was abandoned. Imran Mahboob top scored for Azaad with 63, but Liversedge fought back, lead by young spinner James Ives 3-55, the rain then washing that game away. Also abandoned was the Wakefield St Michaels v Oulton clash.Lawrence Morton had scored 48 for St Michaels, who also had Alex Leyshon getting 45* from number 9. Mehtab Hussain took 4-53 for Oulton. One game completed was Northowram Fields 9 wicket win over Caribbean. Zafar Khan (4-24) and James Norcliffe (3-9) bowled Caribbean out for 67. Robert Larner (30*) and Dru Patel (19*) saw Northowram home.

Hopton Mills last two games will be Oulton (a) and Wakefield St Michaels (h) whilst Liversedge finish with Northowram Fields (a) and Caribbean (h).

Week 19 Premier Review

The weather again played a big part in the chase for the Premier title as Methley once again beat the rain but fellow title contenders Wakefield Thornes and Townville fell foul. Thornes were perhaps in the best position to win their game, but Townville will also have felt confident to take maximum points from their game with Altofts.

Week 18 Premier review

All to play for at the top as Wrenthorpe pull the championship door wide open. Seven points separate the top four sides in the division and we now have new leaders for the first time this season as Wakefield Thornes continued their fantastic run of form to claim top spot and now lead by one point from Methley, with Townville a further two points behind and Wrens now seven points off the top spot.